Wednesday, June 17, 2009


The Comatorium is reporting that a new Mars Volta album is due out this year, and that an official announcement is expected soon: As reported on The Comatorium blog as well as; an official announcement is expected in near future regarding The Mars Volta’s new album, Octahedron. Once again, the album will be produced by Omar Rodriguez-Lopez. The provisoral release date would be 19th June.
Nothing else is known, but it was previously reported that the group had already recorded two new albums.

Also due out is Cryptomnesia I from Mars Volta-related group El Grupo Nuevo de Omar Rodriguez Lopez. The group is composed of guitarist Omar Rodriguez Lopez, and bassist Juan Alderete de la Peña of The Mars Volta, drummer Zach Hill, and synth bassist Jonathan Hischke of Hella. Additionally, Mars Volta singer Cedric Bixler Zavala will provide vocals on eight of the album’s 11 tracks.

The group isn’t newly formed, they united in 2006 to record a trio of albums; Cryptomnesia I being the first. Cryptomnesia I is due out May 5th and additionally, a limited vinyl pressing will be released on Record Store Day (April 18th). Below is a short promo video for the album:

No comments: